The Canadian in Me

by laurenlux

I guess I don’t talk about this enough, but I have gotten a lot of requests recently for more discussion around Canadian brands that I love. I do admit there is something to be said about learning about brands that you either haven’t heard of or don’t have access to. I guess it’s human nature to want what you can’t have.

If I were to relate one brand to the UK it would be Holt Renfrew. Rather than a brand on it’s own, it’s actually positioned as a luxury department store run by the same owner as Selfridges and Primark, Galen Weston (Canadian like myself). It has a similar feel to Selfridges in that it’s not your average department store — it’s trendy and has a brand personality when you walk through the store. The buyers are open to stocking all sort of designers from the likes of newly discovered brands i.e. Erin Kleinberg (they were one of the first stores to stock her) to trending (Helmut Lang), classic (Chanel) and established brands (Alexander Wang), to name but a few. It’s interesting because if you look at London, there are so many competing brands from the likes of Selfridges, Harvey Nichols, Harrods, Net-A-Porter, House of Fraser, Liberty to Matches. In Canada – Holt’s definitely holds the position as THE retail luxury department store, with Hudson’s Bay Company trailing behind – but at quite a rapid pace over the past 2 years especially (proud to say I used to work for them in merchandising)! It’s pretty mental when you think about how much opportunity a brand like Holts has since it holds such an advantage in that space.

Before I ramble on about Holts (and I will do a future outfit post from there so you can see what they have to offer), I wanted to share the below pictures with you from my lovely photoshoot with Jaime from Boy Meets Fashion. What a wonderful camera he has! I would love to get my hands on one of those. We did the shoot for Selfridges No Noise Campaign highlighting de-branded Beats By Dre. The purpose of the campaign was to promote silence since our world is so crowded with brands. Selfridges even had a meditation centre where customers could just relax and wind down. Shopping can be stressful so trust me this was a very helpful space! The debranded beats are also wayyyy nicer than the regular ones. You’ll notice a few things in the images below: 1. I am wearing a Toronto Blue Jay’s hat. They are my favourite baseball team – obviously. 2. One of the photos has Jamie’s writing on it – I included this because I think it’s really cute how he comments on photos this way. 3. The man in the other photos is Jamie!

Lauren01

1. Toronto Blue Jays Hat

2. Acne Scarf 

3. Topshop Boutique Jacket 

4. Chanel Bag

5.  Vintage/markets/Saint Laurent Rings 

debranded-dre-01
debranded-dre-04

debranded-dre-05

debranded-dre-06

debranded-dre-07
Lauren02

debranded-dre-10

debranded-dre-09

The magical Selfridges – where you can buy the de-branded beats.

Happy Friday everyone!

Leave a Reply

